The Special Stage Rally component of the Classic Outback Trial has been expanded this year. 

There are now two distinct vehicle categories.  One is for the traditional two-wheel drive, non-turbocharged Historic and Classic Rally Cars.  The other is for the Allcomers – including four-wheel drives and turbocharged vehicles. 

Peter Neal/Craig Whyburn - Subaru Impreza WRX

The Allcomers category is aimed at encouraging competitors to get their cars out of the garage and re-engage in rallying!

The Historic and Classic Rally Car category entry includes such diverse cars as Triumph 2000, Volvo 242, Mitsubishi Colt, Mercedes 350 SL, Datsun 1600, Holden Monaro and Commodores as well as Ford Cortina and Escorts.

 The Allcomers category is similar to that seen in New Zealand rallies and has proven to be popular and is keenly contested. The category caters for a wide variety of cars of varying ages and technical specifications, but with modern safety engineering being an essential ingredient.

This year’s Classic Outback Trial will see the winner of each the Special Stage Rally category be equally recognised.

The categories will be:

  • The traditional Classic Car Category for 2WD Historic (to 1980), Classic (to 1988) and Production Rally Cars (to 1985);
  • A new Allcomers Category for 2WD and 4WD Club Cars (all years) and Production Rally Cars – which include FIA Homologated cars – (from 1986), as well other cars which meet the organiser’s selection criteria. Turbocharged 4WD cars will be required to be fitted with restrictors.
COT16 2nd Classic: : Andy Crane and Dave Anderson, 1970 Peugeot 504